Share this page

Wednesday Feb 15 2017


For Release:
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 – 11:00AM

The Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum has announced its 2017 class of inductees. To be formally honoured at the 30th annual induction banquet, May 7th at Canad Inns – Polo Park are a curler, two builders, and three teams.

The induction ceremony this year will pay tribute to the accomplishments of 6-time Manitoba champion Linda Van Daele-Brandon; volunteer, instructor and coach, & two-time Manitoba Junior Champion coach Alex Mowat, dedicated volunteer and curling organizer June McTavish; the 1973 Canadian Senior Champion Dr. Bill McTavish team; the 1986 Canadian Junior Champion Hugh McFadyen team; and the 2015 World junior Champion Braden Calvert team.

Following are highlights of the honourees accomplishments.

CURLER: Linda Van Daele-Brandon is a six-time Manitoba champion. She skipped the Manitoba Senior Women’s champion team on three different occasions (2001, 2005, 2010) and as third for Joyce McDougall, won three consecutive Manitoba Masters Women’s titles (2011, 2012, 2013) and the 2011 Canadian Open Masters Women’s title..  The Manitoba championships from 2010 through 2013 make her one of a select few Manitoba champions to have won four consecutive titles. Across an extensive career, she competed in 31 provincial championships including Women’s, Seniors, Masters and Mixed and earned a provincial Scotties Silver Medal as all-star skip in 2002, the year after she earned a Canadian Senior Women’s Silver Medal.

BUILDER:  For a period of over three decades, Alex Mowat was an active curler/competitor who gave back to the sport of curling as an instructor, organizer, executive member and coach. Identified primarily as an Elmwood Curling Club member over his career, he served that club as its President in 1976-77 and was also a driving force & instructor at Elmwood’s curling schools. He was named an Elmwood Honourary Life Member in 2001.At the provincial level, he was the Curl Canada provincial coordinator (1976-78), MCA Council member (1978-1984), and Instructor/Chaperone at the MCA’s summer camps for 20 years. At the National level, he was a Level III CCA Curling Instructor as well as a National Course Conductor who was recognized as CCA Curling Instructor of the Year in 1984 and 1985.

As a Coach, he worked with many teams including the Reid Carruthers 2003 Manitoba Junior Men’s Champions and the Kaitlyn Lawes 2008 Manitoba and Canadian Junior Women’s Champions. In both championship seasons, he received the CCA Coaching Excellence Awards at the national championships.

BUILDER: June McTavish was the driving force behind the Bide-A-Wee Curling Club, a group which was one of the largest Mixed curling leagues in Manitoba’s curling history and which, at its peak in the mid/late 60’s, occupied ice at Fort Garry, Eaton, Granite, Elmwood and Rossmere Curling rinks. She emphasized the Bide-A-Wee (Scottish for Stay a While) name and attitude by encouraging all who participated to enjoy their curling as a large, friendly family outing. As the league coordinator for 1952 to 1983, she saw many of the league’s curlers develop into provincial and national level competitors but she always emphasized equity of teams to ensure the Bide-A-Wee experience was  enjoyed by all of her curlers.

TEAM: Dr. Bill McTavish (skip), Norm McLean (third), John McLean (second), Harry Sulkers (lead) won the Manitoba and Canadian Senior Men’s Championships in 1973. It was only Manitoba’s second Canadian Senior Men’s title, after Leo Johnson and his team had won the inaugural in 1965.

TEAM: Hugh McFadyen (skip), Jon Mead (third), Norm Gould (second), and John Lange (lead) won the Manitoba and Canadian Junior Men’s Championships and, as was the policy of the time, represented Canada at the World Juniors in 1987. The Manitobans posted an 8-1 round-robin record and won their semi-final game but finished 9-2 when they lost a 3-2 final game to Scotland.

TEAM: Braden Calvert (skip), Kyle Kurz (third), Lucas Van Den Bosch (second) and Brendan Wilson (lead) won back-to-back Manitoba and Canadian Junior championships in 2014 and 2015. Rebounding from disappointing losses in the 2014 World Championship playoffs, the team returned to the World Championship where they posted an overall 10-1 record and brought home Manitoba’s first World Junior Gold Medal since 2002.

For information, media may contact
Resby Coutts – President, Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum Inc.
204-799-2250 (



Post a Comment


Security Step
Security Code:

Back to News