CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members

Share this page

Browse by Year
1900-1909   1910-1919   1920-1929   1930-1939   1940-1949   1950-1959   
1960-1969   1970-1979   1980-1989   1990-1999   2000-2009   2010-2017   
Search by Name
Search by Club

Years 1970 to 1979
Name Date Club
Bill Barker 1970-05-01 Brandon
Malcolm Turriff 1970-05-01 Transcona
Maurice Smith 1970-05-01 Media - Winnipeg Free Press
Bill Sherk 1970-05-01 West Kildonan
Doug Scrymgeour 1970-05-01 Elmwood
Jack Matheson 1970-05-01 Media - Winnipeg Tribune
Stewart MacPherson 1970-05-01 Media
Fred Law 1970-05-01 Thistle
Ernie Daun 1970-05-01 Thistle
Eleanor Clarke 1970-05-01 Granite
Marj Beaton 1970-05-01 West Kildonan
Alex Williamson 1971-05-01 Civic Cal
Jim Williams 1971-05-01 Deer Lodge
Billy Walsh 1971-05-01 Fort Rouge
Grace Reynolds 1971-05-01 St. John's
Alice Oterholm 1971-05-01 Heather
Ralph Nye 1971-05-01 Brandon
Jim Moore 1971-05-01 Balmoral
John Innes 1971-05-01 Victoria
Cec Watt 1972-05-01 Elmwood
Jack Timms 1972-05-01 Valour Road
Bert Reinsch 1972-05-01 Brunkild
Vera Regent 1972-05-01 St. Vital
Esther Poulton 1972-05-01 Fort Rouge
Bert Pelletier 1972-05-01 Ross Lake
Marno Fredrickson 1972-05-01 Heather
Carol Dingle 1972-05-01 Killarney
Steve Vance 1973-05-01 Charleswood
Otto Thomssen 1973-05-01 St. Paul, Minnesota
Mary Thompson 1973-05-01 Eaton
Barney Sigurdson 1973-05-01 Gimli
Bert Shatsky 1973-05-01 Maple Leaf
Harold Nelson 1973-05-01 Carberry
Helen McDiarmid 1973-05-01 Fort Rouge
Phoebe Fraser 1973-05-01 Dauphin
Frank Cuthbert 1973-05-01 Glenora
Noel Buxton 1973-05-01 Deer Lodge
Agnes Vien 1974-05-01 Civic Cal
Leon Vandekerckhove 1974-05-01 Stony Mountain
Jim Robertson 1974-05-01 Willow Park
Bob Picken 1974-05-01 Valour Road
Marion Lynch 1974-05-01 Pembina
Norman Houck 1974-05-01 Elmwood
Charles Oakden 1975-05-01 Boissevain
Edna Moffatt 1975-05-01 Wildewood
Florence McInnes 1975-05-01 Flin Flon
Fred Law 1975-05-01 Grain Exchange
Bill Kitson 1975-05-01 Portage
Ed Cooper 1975-05-01 Pembina
Jim Wishart 1976-05-01 Portage
Edna Mullett 1976-05-01 Hartney
Hon Jack McKaeg 1976-05-01 Winter Club
Wilf Foster 1976-05-01 Elmwood
Alwyn Fahrner 1976-05-01 Charleswood
Vic Palmer 1977-05-01 Grain Exchange
Bob McGimpsey 1977-05-01 Dauphin
Agnes McDougall 1977-05-01 Neepawa
Dick Johnston 1977-05-01 Fort Garry
Irene Henderson 1977-05-01 Manitou
Jim DeWolfe 1977-05-01 Fort Rouge
Jack Betteridge 1977-05-01 Flin Flon
George Adamson 1977-05-01 Gladstone
Jim Stanier 1978-05-01 Deer Lodge
Bud McIntosh 1978-05-01 Snow Lake
Joan Martin 1978-05-01 East St. Paul
Ross Fraser 1978-05-01 Hamiota
Ted Bloomer 1979-05-01 Charleswood
Don Brownridge 1979-05-01 Portage
Mona Dixon 1979-05-01 Assiniboine Memorial
Wes Owen 1979-05-01 West Kildonan
Rev Grant Smith 1979-05-01 Chaplains
David Stewart 1979-05-01 MacDonald Tobacco
Jim Wardle 1979-05-01 Flin Flon

History: CurlManitoba has been recognizing individuals for their contributions to the game of curling in our province since 1907. Since that time nearly 700 individuals have been recognized by CurlManitoba, former MCA and MLCA with Honourary Life Memberships.

What is it?  CurlManitoba annually recognizes a maximum of four individuals who have provided volunteer service to the game of curling in the Province on behalf of the CurlManitoba. This service must have taken place over a significant period of time.

Examples of long service can include:

- regional chairman
- involvement in the Development program which can include the summer curling camps
- long time member of the officiating program
- long time member of CurlManitoba or the former MCA and MLCA Board of Directors
- long time member of a committee that operates at arms length to CurlManitoba, including the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum, Manitoba Curling Foundation, Westman Curling Foundation.
- long time member of the CurlManitoba Ice Technician program
- other volunteer efforts on behalf of CurlManitoba or the MCA or MLCA.

Note: Recognition does not include on ice curling achievements or work done by individuals in their home club. In addition no posthumous nominations are accepted.

What An HLM Receives: Those who have been awarded an Honorary Life Membership will receive a framed certificate, a label pin, a name bar and a Honourary Life Member medal. The presentations are usually made at the CurlManitoba Annual General Meeting Alternative timing and venue may be proposed. The individual will be featured on the CurlManitoba website and will be included in a permanent HLM listing on the website. A Life Members reception-dinner, usually held in the fourth calendar quarter of the year, provides an opportunity to welcome the new Life Members into the fellowship of this select group of curling volunteers.

How to Nominate: An individual may be nominated by their curling club or any individual who can provide in letter form a detailed listing of the nominee's long service that makes the individual worthy of this honour. Nominations should be submitted to the CurlManitoba office at  

145 Pacific Ave, Winnipeg. R3B 2Z6 or by email to no later than March 15 of each year.

Nomination Review:  At least 90 days prior to the AGM,  the CurlManitoba President (or the Awards Committee Chair on behalf of the President) will convene a meeting of the HLM Nominating Committee where all nominations will be reviewed. The President will then take the nomination report to a Meeting of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors for ratification, after which the CurlManitoba President will contact the successful nominees. Letter applications will remain on file for a minimum of 3 years.

The 2016 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Sam Antila - Burntwood CC

Kim Warburton - Fort Rouge CC
Russ Hinds - Charleswood CC

The 2015 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

John Graham – Safeway/Sobeys (presented at Safeway Championship-Brandon)
Hilda Towerzey - Piper
Paul Wiecek - Winnipeg Free Press
Rob Van Kommer - Carberry CC

The 2014 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Jim Winfield-Grandview CC
Sharon Thiessen-Woods-Heather CC
Anni Markman-Ste Anne CC