CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members

Share this page

Browse by Year
1900-1909   1910-1919   1920-1929   1930-1939   1940-1949   1950-1959   
1960-1969   1970-1979   1980-1989   1990-1999   2000-2009   2010-2017   
Search by Name
Search by Club

Years 1980 to 1989
Name Date Club
Isla Hagborg 1980-05-01 Warren
Lloyd Horn 1980-05-01 Lenore
Jack Smith 1980-05-01 Fort Rouge
Jim Sproule 1980-05-01 Thistle
Edith Tipping 1980-05-01 Elmwood
Jim Williamson 1980-05-01 Brandon
Spence Shiach 1981-05-01 Fort Rouge
Bill Sharpe 1981-05-01 Manitou
Helen Plantje 1981-05-01 St. Vital
Irving Nathanson 1981-05-01 St. Paul, Minnesota
Hon Bud Jobin 1981-05-01 Flin Flon
Beryl Harding 1981-05-01 Fort Rouge
Mary Voss 1982-05-01 Rossmere
Max Saper 1982-05-01 Maple Leaf
Fred Ritchie 1982-05-01 Virden
Lou Henry 1982-05-01 Charleswood
John Gifford 1982-05-01 Transcona
Harold Garnett 1982-05-01 Carman
Henry Budlong 1982-05-01 Flin Flon
Monty Westmacott 1983-05-01 West Kildonan
Guy Steinhoff 1983-05-01 Fort Garry
Bob Lloyd 1983-05-01 Charleswood
Stan Henry 1983-05-01 Oak River
Shirley Bray 1983-05-01 Brandon
George Baldock 1983-05-01 Victoria
Bob Stannard 1984-05-01 Elmwood
Marg Ritchie 1984-05-01 Dauphin
Claude Reid 1984-05-01 Fort Rouge
Eric Mitchell 1984-05-01 Rossmere
Ross McKinnon 1984-05-01 Fort Garry
Ina Light 1984-05-01 Heather
Iris Carroll 1984-05-01 Brandon
Tom Bell 1984-05-01 Valour Road
Don Sumner 1985-05-01 Brandon
Don Sault 1985-05-01 St. Paul, Minnesota
Frank Owens 1985-05-01 Fort Garry
Art Otto 1985-05-01 Gladstone
Roy Nordlinger 1985-05-01 Valour Road
Edna McKinnon 1985-05-01 Grain Exchange
Ruth Crook 1985-05-01 MLCA
Ralph Bagley 1985-05-01 Media -Wpg Free Press
Alf Poole 1986-05-01 Brandon
Bob Irving 1986-05-01 Media - CJOB
Gerry Gustafson 1986-05-01 St. Paul, Minnesota
Garry DeBlonde 1986-05-01 CCA
Janet Davidson 1986-05-01 St. Vital
Sam Brown 1986-05-01 Deer Lodge
Earl Stephenson 1987-05-01 Rossmere
Verna Petrick 1987-05-01 Rossmere
Rick Mutton 1987-05-01 Deer Lodge
Barry Mulvenny 1987-05-01 Victoria
Lloyd Gunnlaugson 1987-05-01 Valour Road
Bill Biehl 1987-05-01 Heather
Nell Stoughton 1988-05-01 Fort Rouge
Vic Rose 1988-05-01 St. Vital
Tom Dooley 1988-05-01 Fort Garry
Ernie Delf 1988-05-01 Fort Garry
Jack Bryson 1988-05-01 Burntwood
Lloyd Andrews 1988-05-01 Morden
Gilbert Ruest 1989-05-01 St. Pierre
Don Pottinger 1989-05-01 Brandon
Dave Parkes 1989-05-01 Morden
Alex Mowat 1989-05-01 Elmwood
Bernice Low 1989-05-01 Thistle
Dave Jowett 1989-05-01 Labatt's
Hon Dr. George Johnson 1989-05-01 Gimli
Orille Hogue 1989-05-01 Portage
Dutchy Hems 1989-05-01 St. Vital
Al Coopman 1989-05-01 Charleswood
Jack Campbell 1989-05-01 Stony Mountain
Lorne Cameron 1989-05-01 St. Vital
Ed Tarapasky 1989-05-01 Victoria

History: CurlManitoba has been recognizing individuals for their contributions to the game of curling in our province since 1907. Since that time nearly 700 individuals have been recognized by CurlManitoba, former MCA and MLCA with Honourary Life Memberships.

What is it?  CurlManitoba annually recognizes a maximum of four individuals who have provided volunteer service to the game of curling in the Province on behalf of the CurlManitoba. This service must have taken place over a significant period of time.

Examples of long service can include:

- regional chairman
- involvement in the Development program which can include the summer curling camps
- long time member of the officiating program
- long time member of CurlManitoba or the former MCA and MLCA Board of Directors
- long time member of a committee that operates at arms length to CurlManitoba, including the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum, Manitoba Curling Foundation, Westman Curling Foundation.
- long time member of the CurlManitoba Ice Technician program
- other volunteer efforts on behalf of CurlManitoba or the MCA or MLCA.

Note: Recognition does not include on ice curling achievements or work done by individuals in their home club. In addition no posthumous nominations are accepted.

What An HLM Receives: Those who have been awarded an Honorary Life Membership will receive a framed certificate, a label pin, a name bar and a Honourary Life Member medal. The presentations are usually made at the CurlManitoba Annual General Meeting Alternative timing and venue may be proposed. The individual will be featured on the CurlManitoba website and will be included in a permanent HLM listing on the website. A Life Members reception-dinner, usually held in the fourth calendar quarter of the year, provides an opportunity to welcome the new Life Members into the fellowship of this select group of curling volunteers.

How to Nominate: An individual may be nominated by their curling club or any individual who can provide in letter form a detailed listing of the nominee's long service that makes the individual worthy of this honour. Nominations should be submitted to the CurlManitoba office at  

145 Pacific Ave, Winnipeg. R3B 2Z6 or by email to no later than March 15 of each year.

Nomination Review:  At least 90 days prior to the AGM,  the CurlManitoba President (or the Awards Committee Chair on behalf of the President) will convene a meeting of the HLM Nominating Committee where all nominations will be reviewed. The President will then take the nomination report to a Meeting of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors for ratification, after which the CurlManitoba President will contact the successful nominees. Letter applications will remain on file for a minimum of 3 years.

The 2016 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Sam Antila - Burntwood CC

Kim Warburton - Fort Rouge CC
Russ Hinds - Charleswood CC

The 2015 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

John Graham – Safeway/Sobeys (presented at Safeway Championship-Brandon)
Hilda Towerzey - Piper
Paul Wiecek - Winnipeg Free Press
Rob Van Kommer - Carberry CC

The 2014 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Jim Winfield-Grandview CC
Sharon Thiessen-Woods-Heather CC
Anni Markman-Ste Anne CC