CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members

Share this page

Browse by Year
1900-1909   1910-1919   1920-1929   1930-1939   1940-1949   1950-1959   
1960-1969   1970-1979   1980-1989   1990-1999   2000-2009   2010-2017   
Search by Name
Search by Club

Years 1990 to 1999
Name Date Club
Cliff Bagrie 1990-05-01 Portage
Roy Gorkoff 1990-05-01 Fort Garry
Larry Jones 1990-05-01 St. Vital
Jack Levin 1990-05-01 Maple Leaf
Al Macatavish 1990-05-01 Elmwood
Bill Scott 1991-05-01 Fort Rouge
Lorne Preston 1991-05-01 Riverview
Rod Lynch 1991-05-01 Pembina
Reid Lumbard 1991-05-01 Brandon
Bill Jackson 1991-05-01 Rossmere
Lyle Henry 1991-05-01 Strathcona
Leila Farrell 1991-05-01 CFB
Howard Fairbairn 1991-05-01 Deer Lodge
Vince Burr 1991-05-01 West St. Paul
Jim Younger 1992-05-01 Gladstone
Wayne Walker 1992-05-01 Wildewood
Norm Reid 1992-05-01 Heather
Ken Holland 1992-05-01 Portage
Bill Farbelow 1992-05-01 St. Paul, Minnesota
Lorne Croy 1992-05-01 Petersfield
Resby Coutts 1992-05-01 Brandon
Ralph Bullock 1992-05-01 Assiniboine Memorial
Judy Brown 1992-05-01 Wildewood
Gord Sparkes 1993-05-01 Deer Lodge
Cliff Schmidt 1993-05-01 Valour Road
Hal Pullin 1993-05-01 Fort Rouge
Ron Lloyd 1993-05-01 Fort Garry
Lorne Kingyens 1993-05-01 CFB
Lorne Hamblin 1993-05-01 Morris
Keith Forbes 1993-05-01 Hartney
Beryl Fallis 1993-05-01 Winter Club
Don Duguid 1993-05-01 Granite
Ray Turnbull 1994-05-01 Granite
Roy Tunny 1994-05-01 Assiniboine Memorial
Garth Strachan 1994-05-01 Hamiota
Bill Norrie QC 1994-05-01 City of Winnipeg
Larry Pieper 1994-05-01 St. Paul, Minnesota
Paul Pelletier 1994-05-01 Fort Rouge
Lorne Molinski 1994-05-01 Pembina
Lorna Marshall 1994-05-01 Brandon
Welland Williams 1995-05-01 CFB
Bev Wait 1995-05-01 Balmoral
Ken Roth 1995-05-01 Carman
Ward Putnam 1995-05-01 Charleswood
Bob Flock 1995-05-01 Deer Lodge
Mark Collins 1995-05-01 Baldur
Dennis Smith 1996-05-01 Pinawa
Jud Scales 1996-05-01 Swan River
Zivan Saper 1996-05-01 Maple Leaf
Barry Sadler 1996-05-01 Portage
Ken McCannell 1996-05-01 Pilot Mound
Sylvia Erickson 1996-05-01 St. Vital
Raymond Cook 1996-05-01 Springfield
Tom Clasper 1996-05-01 Fort Rouge
Brian Thomson 1997-05-01 Plumas
George Philpott 1997-05-01 Petersfield
Bob Moroz 1997-05-01 Ashern
Ron Cripps 1997-05-01 Burntwood
Rob Cox 1997-05-01 Selkirk
Jack Callum 1997-05-01 Strathcona
Jerry Brown 1997-05-01 Deer Lodge
Caryn Blashko 1997-05-01 Charleswood
Bruce Peloquin 1998-05-01 Grain Exchange
Ed McTavish 1998-05-01 Burntwood
Ralph McFadyen 1998-05-01 Assiniboine Memorial
Audrey Hogg 1998-05-01 Warren
Dan Hildebrand 1998-05-01 Fort Rouge
Clayton Dreger 1998-05-01 Media - CFAM
Ken Parfeniuk 1999-05-01 Victoria
Bart Jenner 1999-05-01 St. Vital
Jack Hume 1999-05-01 Oak River
John Helston 1999-05-01 Heather
Roger Goethals 1999-05-01 Deloraine
Lauree Clifford 1999-05-01 Portage
Gord Boitson 1999-05-01 West Kildonan
Nancy Rummery 1999-05-01 Deer Lodge

History: CurlManitoba has been recognizing individuals for their contributions to the game of curling in our province since 1907. Since that time nearly 700 individuals have been recognized by CurlManitoba, former MCA and MLCA with Honourary Life Memberships.

What is it?  CurlManitoba annually recognizes a maximum of four individuals who have provided volunteer service to the game of curling in the Province on behalf of the CurlManitoba. This service must have taken place over a significant period of time.

Examples of long service can include:

- regional chairman
- involvement in the Development program which can include the summer curling camps
- long time member of the officiating program
- long time member of CurlManitoba or the former MCA and MLCA Board of Directors
- long time member of a committee that operates at arms length to CurlManitoba, including the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum, Manitoba Curling Foundation, Westman Curling Foundation.
- long time member of the CurlManitoba Ice Technician program
- other volunteer efforts on behalf of CurlManitoba or the MCA or MLCA.

Note: Recognition does not include on ice curling achievements or work done by individuals in their home club. In addition no posthumous nominations are accepted.

What An HLM Receives: Those who have been awarded an Honorary Life Membership will receive a framed certificate, a label pin, a name bar and a Honourary Life Member medal. The presentations are usually made at the CurlManitoba Annual General Meeting Alternative timing and venue may be proposed. The individual will be featured on the CurlManitoba website and will be included in a permanent HLM listing on the website. A Life Members reception-dinner, usually held in the fourth calendar quarter of the year, provides an opportunity to welcome the new Life Members into the fellowship of this select group of curling volunteers.

How to Nominate: An individual may be nominated by their curling club or any individual who can provide in letter form a detailed listing of the nominee's long service that makes the individual worthy of this honour. Nominations should be submitted to the CurlManitoba office at  

145 Pacific Ave, Winnipeg. R3B 2Z6 or by email to no later than March 15 of each year.

Nomination Review:  At least 90 days prior to the AGM,  the CurlManitoba President (or the Awards Committee Chair on behalf of the President) will convene a meeting of the HLM Nominating Committee where all nominations will be reviewed. The President will then take the nomination report to a Meeting of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors for ratification, after which the CurlManitoba President will contact the successful nominees. Letter applications will remain on file for a minimum of 3 years.

The 2016 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Sam Antila - Burntwood CC

Kim Warburton - Fort Rouge CC
Russ Hinds - Charleswood CC

The 2015 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

John Graham – Safeway/Sobeys (presented at Safeway Championship-Brandon)
Hilda Towerzey - Piper
Paul Wiecek - Winnipeg Free Press
Rob Van Kommer - Carberry CC

The 2014 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Jim Winfield-Grandview CC
Sharon Thiessen-Woods-Heather CC
Anni Markman-Ste Anne CC