CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members

Share this page

Browse by Year
1900-1909   1910-1919   1920-1929   1930-1939   1940-1949   1950-1959   
1960-1969   1970-1979   1980-1989   1990-1999   2000-2009   2010-2017   
Search by Name
Search by Club

Years 2000 to 2009
Name Date Club
Garry Dola 2000-05-01 Selkirk
Patti Wuthrich 2000-05-01 Stony Mountain
Lorraine Toth 2000-05-01 East St. Paul
Trevor Smith 2000-05-01 Carman
Barry McMechan 2000-05-01 Deloraine
Gerry Markovich 2000-05-01 Fort Garry
Allan Gray 2000-05-01 CFB
Ruth Toal 2001-05-01 Assiniboine Memorial
Don Stewart 2001-05-01 Manitou
Gary Smith 2001-05-01 Heather
Flo Sims 2001-05-01 St. Vital
Betty Hird 2001-05-01 Heather
Ev Green 2001-05-01 St. Vital
Edie Caron 2001-05-01 Fort Garry
Dale Brooks 2001-05-01 Hamiota
Jim Want 2002-05-01 Petersfield
Janette Phillips 2002-05-01 Fort Garry
Dave Patsack 2002-05-01 Portage
Pauline Marofke 2002-05-01 Pembina
Heather Helston 2002-05-01 Heather
Barry Greenberg 2002-05-01 Granite
Glenda Buhr 2002-05-01 Springfield
Georgina Anderson 2002-05-01 Glenboro
Fred Sutton 2003-05-01 Thistle
Gerry MacKay 2003-05-01 Wheat City
Linda Lumbard 2003-05-01 Wheat City
Denise Hoekstra 2003-05-01 Carman
Susan Copeland 2003-05-01 MCA
Jim Bender 2003-05-01 Media - Winnipeg Sun
Roy Arndt 2003-05-01 Heather
Helen Alm 2003-05-01 Dauphin
Janine Smith 2004-05-01 Elmwood
Fay McCannell 2004-05-01 Pilot Mound
Jack MacDonald 2004-05-01 Grain Exchange
Joan Halowski 2004-05-01 West Kildonan
Doug Gourlay 2004-05-01 Flin Flon
Toby Oswald-Felker 2005-05-01 Canada Safeway
Bert Lowry 2005-05-01 Neepawa
Dan Hyrich 2005-05-01 Glenboro
Bob Gould 2005-05-01 Assiniboine Memorial
Mitchell Tarapasky 2007-05-01 Victoria Curling Club
Don Campbell 2007-05-01 Brandon Curling Club
Bev MacKenzie 2007-05-01 Dauphin Kilty Curling Club
Ray Gudmundson 2007-05-01 Pace Setter Sportswear
Carol Thompson 2008-5-1 Burntwood
Joe Pascucci 2008-5-1 Global Television
Jo-Anne Inglis 2008-5-1 Portage
Bill Campbell 2008-5-1 Brandon
Diane Sadler 2009-5-1 Portage
Greg Milloy 2009-5-1 St. Vital
Bob Cox 2009-5-1 Pembina
Tony Galbecka 2009-5-1 Charleswood

History: CurlManitoba has been recognizing individuals for their contributions to the game of curling in our province since 1907. Since that time nearly 700 individuals have been recognized by CurlManitoba, former MCA and MLCA with Honourary Life Memberships.

What is it?  CurlManitoba annually recognizes a maximum of four individuals who have provided volunteer service to the game of curling in the Province on behalf of the CurlManitoba. This service must have taken place over a significant period of time.

Examples of long service can include:

- regional chairman
- involvement in the Development program which can include the summer curling camps
- long time member of the officiating program
- long time member of CurlManitoba or the former MCA and MLCA Board of Directors
- long time member of a committee that operates at arms length to CurlManitoba, including the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum, Manitoba Curling Foundation, Westman Curling Foundation.
- long time member of the CurlManitoba Ice Technician program
- other volunteer efforts on behalf of CurlManitoba or the MCA or MLCA.

Note: Recognition does not include on ice curling achievements or work done by individuals in their home club. In addition no posthumous nominations are accepted.

What An HLM Receives: Those who have been awarded an Honorary Life Membership will receive a framed certificate, a label pin, a name bar and a Honourary Life Member medal. The presentations are usually made at the CurlManitoba Annual General Meeting Alternative timing and venue may be proposed. The individual will be featured on the CurlManitoba website and will be included in a permanent HLM listing on the website. A Life Members reception-dinner, usually held in the fourth calendar quarter of the year, provides an opportunity to welcome the new Life Members into the fellowship of this select group of curling volunteers.

How to Nominate: An individual may be nominated by their curling club or any individual who can provide in letter form a detailed listing of the nominee's long service that makes the individual worthy of this honour. Nominations should be submitted to the CurlManitoba office at  

145 Pacific Ave, Winnipeg. R3B 2Z6 or by email to no later than March 15 of each year.

Nomination Review:  At least 90 days prior to the AGM,  the CurlManitoba President (or the Awards Committee Chair on behalf of the President) will convene a meeting of the HLM Nominating Committee where all nominations will be reviewed. The President will then take the nomination report to a Meeting of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors for ratification, after which the CurlManitoba President will contact the successful nominees. Letter applications will remain on file for a minimum of 3 years.

The 2016 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Sam Antila - Burntwood CC

Kim Warburton - Fort Rouge CC
Russ Hinds - Charleswood CC

The 2015 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

John Graham – Safeway/Sobeys (presented at Safeway Championship-Brandon)
Hilda Towerzey - Piper
Paul Wiecek - Winnipeg Free Press
Rob Van Kommer - Carberry CC

The 2014 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Jim Winfield-Grandview CC
Sharon Thiessen-Woods-Heather CC
Anni Markman-Ste Anne CC