CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members

Share this page

Browse by Year
1900-1909   1910-1919   1920-1929   1930-1939   1940-1949   1950-1959   
1960-1969   1970-1979   1980-1989   1990-1999   2000-2009   2010-2017   
Search by Name
Search by Club

Years 2010 to 2017
Name Date Club
Jean Garbolinsky 2010-5-1 Minnedosa
Lorne Gregorash 2010-5-1 Assiniboine Memoral
Rose Neufeld 2010-5-1 Valour Road
David Petursson 2010-5-1 Charleswood
Jim Strath 2011-5-1 Souris
Sharon Shannon 2011-5-1 Brandon
Gail Mastin 2011-5-1 Gimli
Rod Mackay 2011-5-1 Fort Garry
Rae Hainstock 2012-5-1 Burntwood
Cindy Maddock 2012-5-1 Morden
Marlene Mori 2012-5-1 Thistle
Lorne Sambrook 2012-5-1 Deloraine
Terry Leitch 2013-5-1 MCA Bonspiel
Bev Harris 2013-5-1 MCA Bonspiel
Mel Marsh 2013-5-1 MCA Bonspiel
Jim Winfield 2014-5-1 Grandview
Sharon Thiessen-Woods 2014-5-1 Heather
Anni Markman 2014-5-1 Ste Anne
Rob Van Kommer 2015-5-1 Brandon
Paul Wiecek 2015-5-1 Winnipeg Free Press
Hilda Towerzey 2015-5-1 Piper
John Graham 2015-5-1 Safeway/Sobeys
Sam Antila 2016-5-1 Burntwood
Kim Warburton 2016-5-1 Fort Rouge
Russ Hinds 2016-5-1 Charleswood

History: CurlManitoba has been recognizing individuals for their contributions to the game of curling in our province since 1907. Since that time nearly 700 individuals have been recognized by CurlManitoba, former MCA and MLCA with Honourary Life Memberships.

What is it?  CurlManitoba annually recognizes a maximum of four individuals who have provided volunteer service to the game of curling in the Province on behalf of the CurlManitoba. This service must have taken place over a significant period of time.

Examples of long service can include:

- regional chairman
- involvement in the Development program which can include the summer curling camps
- long time member of the officiating program
- long time member of CurlManitoba or the former MCA and MLCA Board of Directors
- long time member of a committee that operates at arms length to CurlManitoba, including the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum, Manitoba Curling Foundation, Westman Curling Foundation.
- long time member of the CurlManitoba Ice Technician program
- other volunteer efforts on behalf of CurlManitoba or the MCA or MLCA.

Note: Recognition does not include on ice curling achievements or work done by individuals in their home club. In addition no posthumous nominations are accepted.

What An HLM Receives: Those who have been awarded an Honorary Life Membership will receive a framed certificate, a label pin, a name bar and a Honourary Life Member medal. The presentations are usually made at the CurlManitoba Annual General Meeting Alternative timing and venue may be proposed. The individual will be featured on the CurlManitoba website and will be included in a permanent HLM listing on the website. A Life Members reception-dinner, usually held in the fourth calendar quarter of the year, provides an opportunity to welcome the new Life Members into the fellowship of this select group of curling volunteers.

How to Nominate: An individual may be nominated by their curling club or any individual who can provide in letter form a detailed listing of the nominee's long service that makes the individual worthy of this honour. Nominations should be submitted to the CurlManitoba office at  

145 Pacific Ave, Winnipeg. R3B 2Z6 or by email to no later than March 15 of each year.

Nomination Review:  At least 90 days prior to the AGM,  the CurlManitoba President (or the Awards Committee Chair on behalf of the President) will convene a meeting of the HLM Nominating Committee where all nominations will be reviewed. The President will then take the nomination report to a Meeting of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors for ratification, after which the CurlManitoba President will contact the successful nominees. Letter applications will remain on file for a minimum of 3 years.

The 2016 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Sam Antila - Burntwood CC

Kim Warburton - Fort Rouge CC
Russ Hinds - Charleswood CC

The 2015 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

John Graham – Safeway/Sobeys (presented at Safeway Championship-Brandon)
Hilda Towerzey - Piper
Paul Wiecek - Winnipeg Free Press
Rob Van Kommer - Carberry CC

The 2014 CurlManitoba Honorary Life Members are as follows:

Jim Winfield-Grandview CC
Sharon Thiessen-Woods-Heather CC
Anni Markman-Ste Anne CC