Past Presidents Association

Share this page


Executive and Club Representatives 2014-2015


Past President                                                                         President

Gordon Cherepak                                                                    Roger Fontaine

1st Vice-President
                                                                    2nd Vice-President

Greg Daly                                                                                 Bill Biehl

Secretary-Treasurer                                                                  Chaplain

Bill Heinkel                                                                              Rev. Fraser Muldew
The Past Presidents’ Association, as its’ names indicates, is an Association formed to retain the interest in the game of curling among curlers who have been presidents of their respective clubs.  Any past president of a club affiliated with CurlManitoba is eligible for membership.  The Association was founded May 4th, 1928. 

The objectives of the Association are to maintain interest and promote good fellowship in the game of curling and promote curling in the province of Manitoba. The activities consist of an annual dinner and general meeting in the spring and a golf tournament in early summer.  Any past presidents interested in joining the Association should contact the Secretary.

Ladies Past

2017-2018 Executive 

Past-President           Sharon Chaput

President                  Dorothy Sawchuk            

Vice-President           Kathy McLennan

2nd Vice President    Jeanne Anderson

Treasurer                  Marj Bone

Secretary                 Gail Henderson-Brown

Social                       Diane McCarthy

Ice & Draw                Irene Hay

The Manitoba Ladies’ Past Presidents’ Curling Association, active since 1932, is and independent organization devoted to fostering the fellowship of curling.  Any Lady who is a past president of any worldwide curling club may become a member.  Many of our provincial clubs have a Past Presidents’ Association representative who encourages all past presidents to join, collects the annual membership fee and keeps members informed of upcoming events. 

On the third Monday in November we have a fun bonspiel held in a curling club in Winnipeg.  Some members who are no longer curling enjoy coming out to renew friendships, join the curlers for lunch and cheer on the bonspiel participants.  We encourage any recent past presidents of any club in Manitoba or if you have moved here from another part of the world you would be welcome to come out for the day to enjoy curling and a day of fellowship.  Two trophies are awarded:  The Whalley Trophy donated by the Whalley family in memory of Mona Whalley and the Esther Poulton Shield administered by the Winnipeg Foundation in memory of Esther Susan Poulton.An annual luncheon is held on the first Monday in May at Assiniboia Downs.  This is a very popular event and provides another great opportunity to renew old friendships and to meet and make new friends. If you are interested in joining or have any questions regarding our Association, please contact the Curl Manitoba office for further information or one of the executive members. 



1932-33           *Mary Berry, Heather

1933-34             Mrs. C. Wilson

1934-35             Mrs. J. Munro

1935-36             Mrs. M. Peterson

1936-37             Mrs. R. Vincent

1937-38             Mrs. R. Simpson

1938-39             Mrs. W. McAlpine, Heather

1939-40             Mrs. G. Bradley

1940-41             Mrs. S. Baker

1941-42             Mrs. C. Boulton

1942-43             Mrs. F. Zachary

1943-44             Mrs. K. Dubley

1944-45             Mrs. C. W. Simpson

1945-46             Mrs. H. Cochrane

1946-47             Mrs. H. Christie

1947-48             Mrs. A. M. Smith

1948-49             Mrs. C. Foster

1949-50             *Daisy Hutchinson, Grain Exchange

1950-51             Mrs. M. Palmer

1951-52           *Mona Whalley

1952-53             Mrs. C Williamson

1953-54             Mrs C. Taylor

1954-55             Grace Reynolds, St. John’s

1955-56             Mrs. Law

1956-57             Mrs. M Beaton

1957-58             Mrs. M. Hutton

1958-59             Mrs. F Shannon, Transcona

1959-60             Mrs. G. Mason

1960-61             Mrs. K. Popp

1961-62             Mrs. M. Cameron

1962-63             Mrs. N. Staples

1963-64           *Mrs. F. Sturrock, Grain Exchange

1964-65             *Edith Tipping, Elmwood

1965-66             Mrs. F Bower

1966-67           *Dorothy Starr, Fort Rouge

1967-68             Mrs. T. Cooper, St. John’s

1968-69             Sadie Bowden, Deer Lodge

1969-70           *Vera Regent, St. Vital

1970-71             Agnes McDowell, Fort Rouge

1971-72             Peggy McLellan, West Kildonan

1972-73             *Claire Cheney, Pembina Ladies

1973-74             *Virginia Douglas, Assiniboine Memorial

1974-75             Mary Babienko, Elmwood

1975-76             Gladys Darling, Grain Exchange

1976-77             Mrs. T. Birt, Elmwood

1977-78             Mrs. T. Broadbent, Transcona

1978-79             Joan Whalley, Deer Lodge

1979-80             Vi Rogers, St. Vital

1980-81             *Ruth Toal, Granite

1981-82             Rose Shaye, East Kildonan

1982-83             Grace Martin, Crocus

1983-84             Mrs. C. Cameron, Wildewood

1984-85           *Mary Wilshire, Assiniboine Memorial

1985-86             Pat Spiring, Charleswood Ladies

1986-87             Ricky May, Grain Exchange

1987-88             Dorothy Rudd, Pembina

1988-89             Thora Livingstone, Fort Rouge Ladies

1989-90             Ev Hunter, Deer Lodge

1990-91             Karen Armour, Glenbriar

1991-92             Connie Paterson, Thistle B.G.

1992-93             Ev Turner, Assiniboine Memorial

1993-94             Betty Merlevede, Granite Ladies

1994-95             Kathleen Abel, Charleswood Ladies

1995-96             Marjorie Dewar, St. Vital B.G.

1996-97             Joan Gillis, Granite Ladies

1997-98             Joan Moore, Thistle B.G.

1998-99             Terry Taylor, Deer Lodge Ladies

1999-00             Pauline Marofke, Pembina Ladies

2000-01             June Jones, Charleswood Ladies

2001-02             Aija Culley,

2002-03             Phyllis Bell, Assiniboine Memorial Ladies

2003-04 Martha Brown, Deer Lodge

2004-05  Merle Brown, Charleswood Ladies

2005-06 Barbara Manns, Assiniboine Memorial

2006-07 Elaine Dale, Pembina

2007-08 Barbara Perrault, Pembina

2008-09 Helen Nemeth, Pembina

2009-10   Iris Lechner, Thistle

2010-11 Joan Moore, Thistle

2011-12 Audrey Hogg

2012-14 Jeanne Anderson

2014-16   Sharon Chaput

2016-18   Dorothy Sawchuk