Susan Galbraith Memorial Sportsmanship Award

Share this page

Susan Galbraith Memorial Sportsmanship Award
This award is named in memory of Susan Galbraith who had a long time association with junior curling, first as a parent watching her three son’s advance through the junior ranks, and second, as a member of MLCA Council from 1997-1999. In May 2000 Susan was elected a member of the Management Committee of the newly amalgamated Manitoba Curling Association but passed away suddenly in August 2000.
The winners are selected each year by a vote of all competitors at the Canola Junior Men’s and Women’s Provincial Championship.The award is presented to two participating junior athletes for their demonstration of their commitment to the Fair-Play Code of ethics during the provincial championships.


2001    Tyler Specula         Elmwood

2002    Reid Carruthers        St. Vital

2003    Jason Peters          Burntwood

         Corey Manchuk       Pembina

2004    Steven Cook          Springfield

         Jason Gunnlaugson  Valour Road

2005    David Kraichy         Winkler

         Andrew Hunt          Warren

2006    Kyle Peters           Morden

2007    Braden Zawada        Springfield

2008    Kyle Peters           Winnipeg

2009    Eric Wasylenko       Winnipeg

2010   Scott Peterson        Winnipeg

2011 Scott Peterson          Winnipeg

2012 Derek Blanchard        Assiniboine Memorial

2013 Daniel Birchard          Pembina

2014 Curtis Kaatz               St Vital

2015 JT Ryan                     Assiniboine Memorial

2016 Matthew Stewart        Burntwood


2001    Leigh Adams          Selkirk

2002    Allison Harrigan       Shoal Lake

2003    Jackie Komyshyn    Fort Garry

2004    Kaileigh Strath        Souris

2005    Karen Hodgson       Victoria

2006    Allison Nimik         Victoria

2007      Kaileigh Strath        Souris

2008     Lori Miscavish        Thompson

2009    Sarah Lund            Winnipeg

2010    Jenna Johnstone         Carberry

2011    Selena Kaatz/Rachel Burtnyk  Assiniboine Memorial

2012   Taylor Maida            Stonewall

2013   Taylor Maida            Stonewall 

2014   Meaghan Brezden     Granite

2015   Kaitlyn Payette        Brandon

2016   Stacy Sime-Dauphin/Hailey Ryan-Assiniboine Memorial